A Dog is not just for Christmas

I'm sure many of you are aware that our dog, The Mutley, died a couple of months ago. It was a difficult time as he was relatively young, his ashes are still sitting on the mantlepiece. We had planned to go travelling, but throughout this time I've had a feeling of emptiness and have really missed not having a dog in the house. During our recent holiday, we decided to get another dog, so on our return we visited our local animal rescue sanctuary. 

So meet Ms K, the first time I met her, she closed her eyes, looked away and started to shake. It broke my heart and I knew then I wanted her. Ms K does not like men, so for the last four weeks (four times a week) I've been visiting her and now we are friends. She's fine with Ms T and my daughter, but her favourite is my son (she drops the ball only for him).

The other issue is that she does not like traffic (she was found underweight on the streets of Bristol) and won't go in a car. So we have a few weeks to work on that before she comes to live with us just before Christmas (providing we pass the home visit). Loads of love and patience will hopefully help her, I'm sure there will be more downs than ups for a while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.