afterthoughts

By afterthoughts

My Phone and the Generation Gap

Nothing symbolizes the contemporary generation gap as much as our experiences with, and attitudes to, smartphones, iphones, blackberries and so on. Unfortunately, in my eyes, computers and mobile phones have not necessarily improved many aspects of our lives though they are of course a fantastic asset in an emergency.

I met these three lads in an underground passage way in Germany and they came running up to me in the hope I'd take their photo. "Do you work for the newspaper?"

We got talking...the three of them spoke solid German but come originally from eastern Europe. Once I pulled out my phone to note their names their attention switched immediately to my recent purchase. Since I bought my phone, after withstanding 4 months of persistent pressure from certain family members, I have struggled to warm to it and am totally disapppointed with the in-built 8 megapixel camera. (I still haven't managed to take a shot that I feel is good enough for a blip)
The phone is great for listening to Irish radio when travelling through Central Europe but otherwise!!! - too small, hard to read, way overpriced and the cause of a number of headaches when I tried to buy products online. Not that it isn't a great invention mind you, .. it is ... but not for someone with large cumbersome fingers and a short temper.

These three lads, however, saw the phone in a completely positive light, a Ferrari of the touchscreen and capable of making all dreams come true. "Let's swop phones" , one of them cheekily suggested, which of course I didn't do thinking of the amount of money I had spent on it. Their names, by the way, -(said he taking out his phone) - were Gramoz, Nick and Capo. Nice to meet you lads!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.