If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Betula pendula

Another horribly wet and windy day so wet in the morning a didn't even attempt to take any shots.  In the afternoon when I was at Kanyl's it did fair up a bit and the wind had dropped.

I took the chance of a dash round the garden in the hope of something catching my eye.  Knowing it would be dark before I got home it was a bit of desperation.  I took shots of his emerging Snowdrops, some of which are supposed to flower before Christmas - looking doubtful.  Then I noticed the Silver Birch had already formed the catkins for next spring.  So the blip is really a record shot to remind me of how things develop.

An interesting point, Silver Birch can be used to improve top soil for other plants.  It is so deep rooted that it brings up minerals and other nutrients from deep down.  Leaves then fall and add these to the top soil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.