One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

That big bollix Roddy Doyle

and that fecken eedjit Tommy Tiernan. 

I don't usually go to writers' talks. Because what I mostly like is... well... to read what they have carefully crafted. 

Tonight was my first time going to see a writer talk. Interviewed by a stand-up comedian. Inside a Church of Ireland cathedral. 

It was grand. Nothing as delectable as reading Roddy Doyle's books. But grand. In a grand setting. But o so shaggin echoey. Did not get much of the first 15 minutes. But then they changed their microphones to handheld ones. And I moved to another seat further back but next to a speaker, and I could finally hear everything. 

The best part of the evening though was when my mate David from the Repair Factory got three tickets to the Open Brewery at 5 PM for the session starting at 5.30 PM. 

There is nothing quite as enjoyable as an impromptu session. 
The guys from Guinness did not disappoint. 
I really really enjoyed their small batches. Their three Belgian recipe beers were absolutely brilliant. I'll have to do it again.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.