The Albatros

The Albatros is a former sailing ship moored on the quay at Wells-next-the-Sea which is now a music venue and bar which offers bed and breakfast and a fine selection of freshly cooked Dutch pancakes. On this bright, crisp, moonlit freezing cold evening Rol and I went along to see one of my favourite bands Klezmerized! play. Their music is a mix of eastern European, Jewish and Gypsy folk songs and is truly fabulous.

This was a free gig, and we were given lifts there and back as it's about a 90 minute drive from Norwich, so as a special treat we had fish and chips by moonlight before the show.

This is a photo of the outdoor seating on deck - the performance area is really tiny and I found that the lens on my camera kept fogging up when we were inside which is the reason why there's no photos of the band. I think it was because of the mix of warm and cold. I don't know, but it seems fine now and the same thing happened with the lenses on my specs.

To find out more about the Albatros just google it. That's the correct spelling. It really is lovely - but full of character with a lovely atmosphere. Felt like being welcomed into someone's home.

I sing with Kirsty, partner of Adrian the accordian player, in Sing with Pride and several years ago sang with Christiane, vocalist and clarinet player, with the Voice Project.

This coming Thursday I'm playing a gig with my friend Neil and the Ukulele Society at a christmas street party.

It's been such a disappointing week - hopes raised then dashed with job interviews coming to nothing and other stuff going on - and I think I needed to just stop pretending for a short while that everything was okay. Thanks for everyone's thoughts and kind words. They really are appreciated.

ps: I think I need to practice doing night shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.