Hadlow Road Signal Box

I went over to Willaston today with the aim of photographing the old Hadlow Road railway station which closed in the 1950s and has now been restored. The old railway was converted into the Wirral Way, a very popular cycle and walking route, in the 1970s. 

I had intended photographing the old waiting room or platform but there was a lot of restoration work going on and they were replacing the old sleepers on the old section of railway which runs in front of the station. However the signal box had been opened for the day and I had a chat with one of the workers who let me have a look around. The extra shows the signal box from outside. Going inside reminded me of the Signalman ghost story by Charles Dickens. The televised version with Denholm Elliott is always shown every Christmas and I always like watching it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.