"Prismatic"

This is one of the art installations that is featured in an annual nighttime exhibit that takes place in Washington D.C.'s Georgetown neighborhood between 5pm-10pm each night.  It opens up tomorrow and runs for the entire month, but I caught the artist (Hou de Sousa) putting on the final touches on his work (see extra). 

The installation consists of iridescent cords woven between a lightweight steel lattice, producing a dynamic visual effect known as a moiré. Hou told me it took him and his wife (and a few volunteers) about 3 weeks to weave all the cords onto the frame. It's the first time he's shown this work, so I was excited to see it ahead of the formal opening tomorrow nite, when no-one else was there :)

I had planned on doing the walkabout around the 20 or so installations (by different artists) but have come down with bronchitis which I think I need to take care of before our trip over to France in a couple of weeks...

more of a pop in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.