The Daily Record

By havohej

Carpenters The Singles 1969-74

Carpenters 'The Singles 1969-74' (A&M Records, 1973)

Obviously purchased whilst I was in gestation, this album is spookily familiar. My mum must have been blasting it relentlessly on the death deck whilst I was waiting to escape and begin my slow but sure campaign for world domination because every note feels like its embedded somewhere deep in my psyche.

The production is pristine with every musical nuance crystal clear, whether it's stripped back acoustics or lush orchestration. Karen Carpenter's voice is lovely and in a much deeper register than you would expect. Other than that, this doesn't rock my boat, although I would rather listen to it than hear The Shawshank Redemption screaming 'Le Charpentier!' relentlessly at Nick during poker!

Although often seen as an 'American Pie/milk and cookies' type of band, Richard had to seek help to fight an addiction to Quaaludes and Karen tragically died after a battle with anorexia. Richard actually said 'I don't even like milk..' so he's alright in my book!

Lu sang every word to this record so I'm sure she'll fire it on next time the ladies are round; no doubt I'll find it covered in thumbprints beneath a pile Madonna and Smiths records.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.