caitielou

By caitielou

Snowshoeing in the Alps: The first snowstorm

Now that I've made it seem as though I never do anything in Moûtiers besides cook and eat, I should admit that I have been misleading in painting that picture. To tell the truth, Spencer and I get out and about frequently to take advantage of our mountainous location and get some exercise. We have been extremely lucky during our second séjour in France because we have made friends with wonderful people who very generously take us on outings in the mountains with them. Today our landlord took us snowshoeing up to the Dos du Crêt Voland. In the past three days most of the ski resorts have received their first substantial snowfall, up to two feet in some places, but most of the resorts don't open until Christmas week. We still managed to get out there and take advantage of the fresh powder, get some exercise and fresh air and take some photographs. While I was up there I saw this tree and thought it would look perfect in our living room, adorned in lights and tinsel. What with it being the first day of December, the first big snowfall of the year, plus this lovely tree, I am definitely beginning to get excited for my second Christmas in France.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.