Kiki's legacy

Lewis got a phone call from the the Royal Dick vet school on Thursday. They were calling to let him know that they had been granted approval from the Veterinary Medicines Directorate to import the canine melanoma vaccine for use in a rabbit. He didn't tell me until Saturday when I was home from London, which wise as I burst into tears when I heard the news. We knew it would take a long time to approve and we had ruled out giving it to Kiki anyway, but the shock of hearing it had been approved upset me more than I thought it would. The good news is that as they applied for blanket authorisation this will now be a treatment they will have to offer other rabbits in Kiki's situation. As senseless as Kiki's cancer was, I am proud to know that something good was able to come out of it, perhaps another rabbit won't have to go through what she did.

In the extras I posted my tribute to Kiki. It's the heart from Kiki's ear after her surgery, a little part of her I can take with me always. I had booked it for the day after she passed away, not knowing how significant the timing would turn out to be. I had wanted to show her it whilst she was still with us, but Kiki being Kiki had her own plans. Thankfully I was able to be with her for a few days and I let her see it before she left, I'm greatful I got that chance. I still miss her everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.