Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Andreas

I was given a fish today.

The fisherman whose picture I took the other day was back down at the pier and I spent the afternoon talking to him as the cold sun threw colours across sky. For my time, I think, he gave me the flounder he had caught earlier on in the day.

I got it home, took a photo of it and uploaded to facebook. And just as I was about to take my knife to its back it suddenly came back to life and flipped onto the floor. Taken aback jumped back with a rolling pin in one hand and a knife in the other and watched it flip around the floor. I was scared out of my mind. How could it possibly be alive? It was caught and killed 3 hours ago!

I shuffled it into a plastic bag. Even though it was just nerve twitches, it still freaked me out, especially when I had to wrestle with it in the kitchen sink to gut it. I had to bleach my whole kitchen before I went to work.

Maybe I'm not as one with my hunter gatherer roots as I'd initially thought.

Portrait of a good friend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.