Meet Morag

I'm posting this against the 30th as my Ralph McTell picture who was the subject for the 30th was posted after midnight and has the wrong date on it. Your comments are too lovely to lose by reposting.
Anyway. This was Saturday night and this is Martin Green with his weird and wonderful gizmo, which I can't pretend to understand, but but which goes by the name of Morag. Lau (it was they) split opinions in the audience with quite a lot of people finding the experimental side just a bit too out there. To be fair I don't think the sound mix did them any favours. It was a bit too loud and the subtlety and Kris Drever's voice got lost in the mix. It still left me grinning uncontrollably. One of my favourite live acts.
The other interesting fact about Martin is that he is married to Inga Thompson who we saw a couple of weeks ago with Karine Polwart's band. She is also an accordion player and inventor of amazing sounds. I would love to be a fly on the wall at their house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.