A bit damp

A bit damp in Edinburgh today. Not heavy rain while I was there in the afternoon, but wet all the same.

I travelled on the train this morning. A little bit chaotic, it was very busy and was shorter than usual as one of the carriages had been withdrawn due to broken suspension. The reservations system had broken down, not that this mattered to me as I did not have a reservation, but some people did, and so they were surprised the train had been declared not to have any reservations whatsoever.

The aisles were packed with standing passengers by the time we arrived in Edinburgh. Many of us got off there, so the people already on the train probably got seats, those waiting to board probably did not.

Lunch at Valvona and Crolla was followed by a visit to the Christmas Market. Later we had a meet up at Brewhemia after which I got an early evening train back to Aberdeen.

The line north of Edinburgh was blocked by a broken down train but we were able to take a detour. I arrived in Aberdeen about twenty minutes late which I suppose is not too bad. I was lucky to find a bus just about to leave so got back more or less at the time I expected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.