FLOGGING THE BUBBLY

The supermarkets are out cutting each other's throats & confusing the punters with deals impossible to compare.

When I lived in Britain I always shopped in Sainsbury's whenever I could because of nostalgia - there was a lovely old Sainsbury's in Head Street, Colchester - they cut butter from a barrel & whopped it into shape with wooden paddles & wrapped it in greaseproof paper. They had sides of real bacon hanging from ceiling hooks & they wrapped up sugar in thick blue paper...

Story short - here, I go to the Delhaize because they remind me of Sainsbury's & b****r it - today's my 78th birthday - I let myself be seduced & out of curiosity, bought a bottle of Prosecco (top right in the orange).

Not bad at all - certainly better than a Veuve Cliquot for the price!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.