My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Strictly Come Running

Second fixture of the Birmingham cross country league this afternoon at Burbage Common in Nuneaton/Hinckley. West Bromwich Harriers - the midlands premier running club- are currently competing in Division 3 of the league and toady we got to share the course with the Women's Midland cross country league.

The women's race went off before the men and this is two of the leading girls at the start of their second lap -3.5km a lap. I don't actually know who they are or which clubs they run for -I'll try and remember to edit this when the results come out.

The downside of having the women at the same place as the men is that they get to run the course first, making the course even more of a quagmire than it would have been. Not that it needed much help, the course was already ridiculously muddy and I found it really hard to get the pace going once I'd been slowed down by it...and weighed down by it too. Still 3 laps in 47:37, I'm not too disappointed.

I feel like I'll never be clean again...

Edit: I think this is Melissa Hawtin (41) of Birmingham University and behind her Tamara Armoush of Birchfield Harriers.
They eventually finished 4th and 6th respectively and would definitely have beaten me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.