Mapcamp

Ball’s Bluff is not commonly cited as one of major engagements of the American Civil War but it was not only one of the largest in 1861, it involved the utter rout of Union forces. Most saliently Ball’s Bluff is an abject lesson in the importance of maps and situational awareness. http://www.wardleymaps.com/uploads/9/5/9/6/9596026/future-is-predictable-v12.pdf

I head into the office in the dark to reset my password and send a couple of exciting emails. The bike is working well - heated grips are particularly wonderful - but the clutch is very heavy.

Then, it’s across town to the RBS campus at Gogarburn for Mapcamp - a mini conference dedicated to Wardley maps, and hosted by the seemingly tireless Simon Wardley.

Have is over from the US, Kim has come from Melbourne, Tobbe from the Nordics, and Liz from London. There’s Craig who was on my degree course with me in the eighties. And dozens of other familiar faces from the decades as well as many new ones.

It’s a reasonably useful day, although I regret the pile of Tunnocks Caramel Wafers whose persistent temptation I was unable to resist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.