Oxalis Triangularis flowers and a Christmas Cactus

I was delighted to find that Val was selling this young Oxalis Triangularis plant at last week's market in Minchinhampton. I was given one by Nic S. decades ago, but after many transplants and new seedlings it finally died a couple of years ago. I nearly asked a friend for a seedling from his very pretty and successful plant, but never got around to actually doing it.

Having been reminded of Tiny Tuesday challenges I decided that I'd use this Oxalis as a subject since it has produced two more flowers already within a week, and there are many new young shoots beginning to unfurl in the soil with the promise of many more small colourful flowers and purple leaves to come. 

In the background are the first blooms of the Christmas Cactus I bought in a budget supermarket a few weeks ago. I've had many of them over the years as I like their exuberance, but I don't seem to keep them very well. Perhaps it is because they are so commonplace.  On the same day and place I also bought a cheap orchid, a Dendrobium Sa-Nook, which are also becoming commonplace. Unfortunately they aren't easy to maintain, but I shall have a go. I've not had a Dendrobium before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.