Light & sight

By CameronDP

Smoking kills

No, they weren't mine, before anyone asks. This is just a (recently?) discarded packet I found at the local train station today. I have actually never smoked - well, alright, apart from once. When I was about 15 years old and living in Cheltenham, we had two students from the local art college as lodgers. My parents had divorced by then and my mother needed the rent. Both of the studes smoked and well, for reasons long forgotten, one day I crept into their room and cadged one of their fags. Cue one unpleasant coughing fit plus an awkward sprinkling of ashes behind a radiator and I never smoked again, doubtless to the joy of all my subsequent doctors. But it did mean that a few years later that I felt weirdly left out when almost all the cool kids in my class at school took to smirking/ smoking. I didn't need much encouragement to feel angsty and alienated as a teen!
I can still remember both the students surprisingly vividly. One had dark hair and was very kind to me one day when I'd had a bad day at school and was struggling with a model aeroplane. The other looked a bit like Sting (from the Police (the rock/ pop group)). I wonder what happened to the pair of them?
This was very nearly today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.