Faces of....

After a day of work in Aylesbury and dinner with Rosie, it was off to the camera club. We had an excellent talk from local photographer Mark Page, telling us his journey through photography and then focussed on a recent project, "Faces of Wycombe". Mark grew up in High Wycombe and managed to persuade 170 local characters to have simple monochrome images taken to capture a view of the people of the town in 2017. It was a great talk and Mark not only talked us through the project, but also did a live demo of his simple single light setup used to capture all the images. A really good talk and an inspiration as to what is possible with a bit of thought, use of free media channels and basic equipment.

Inspired, I've come home and setup the most basic lighting setup in our hallway (Annie, I promise to tidy it up) with a single flash gun fitted with a cheap grid and mounted on a stand, my camera on a tripod facing me and a wired remote release. Quite pleased with the result and just how quick it was to do, I could have smiled but went a bit more sombre!! Now I need some more willing subjects.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.