One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

That look

You know which one. The garden-gnome-caught-in-the-incoming-headlights-of-an-articulated-lorry look. 
Carlos delivered, there and then. A real pro. 
Tjipko looked a bit too relaxed. So I reminded him of all the meetings he has to attend tomorrow, to present the Plan to the Dublin management of the Mistake Factory, the transition to my successor (the poor aul bollix... I wonder if he has by now realised what was getting into...) 
It was good to meet them. My former direct report, and my former manager-for-six-months. 
We drank to the Reorganisation. The one that pushed me over the edge, that prompted me to make up my mind, and enabled me to find the Repair Factory. 
As a thank you, I took Tjipko for a couple of pints in Lockie's. And introduced  him to the best little restaurant/take-way in Dun Laoghaire (Kyoto). 

A good evening. Being able to talk about the Mistake Factory and have a laugh was great. 
Because that Beast does not await in the morning. Not for me. Not anymore. 

Some wages are just too expensive to earn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.