Ripe Tomatoes!

Two of the tomato plants in my greenhouse have ripe fruit. The red one is early because it was kept too long in a small pot. This was the only way I could protect the plants from the late frosts. Now that it is in a large pot it it doing well.

The mini plant in the 7inch pot is an odd one. Last autumn when I cleaned out the greenhouse I saved a lateral from a 1 metre high gold nugget cherry tomato plant. I cared for it indoors over the winter. Instead of growing into a bush it produced more fruit, which are half the normal size.

More weather. Last night we had a downpour, with thunder. My rain gauge measured 29mm in two hours. I went to bed, but the rain kept on for another hour or so, adding 13mm to the total. This is a phenomenal amount of rain for here. So different from the usual fine misty drizzle.

Last month, November, was unusually wet. I recorded 187mm for the month. Normally we get about 30mm. I would regard 70mm in a month to be remarkable.

Anyway, the clouds over the mountains had gaps in them this morning, revealing more fresh snow after yesterday’s dusting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.