Waiting

These hairy seed cases remind me of so many ungroomed human heads.
I was wasting time this morning having arrived too early at the florist’s to hand in cards to accompany the funeral flowers, which will be delivered to the undertaker tonight in readiness for tomorrow.
His Lordship’s daughter and I have chosen a colourful bouquet incorporating white roses and lilies to lie on top of the coffin. HL was a very visual person who loved colour, so I hope he would approve.

With friends and family coming north from far flung places south of the border, I was hoping the weather would behave. However storm Diana is standing in the wings waiting. There can be nowhere more miserable than Mortonhall in the wind and rain. Fingers crossed she doesn’t wage her whole horror until after the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.