Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Strat

We had a friend dave out to visit last night. He was kind enough to treat us to a takeaway then we settled back, listened to some music and then watched several episodes of Arrested Development (second only to Curb your enthusiasm in my current list of favourite comedies on TV).

Anyway Dave stayed over and Roz was off out to work today so we decided to spare her and have the guitar session when she was out at work.

This is one of Daves many nice guitars. He has a couple of Yamahas, this Highway 1 Strat and I like to wind him up that he's now also got himself a proper guitar since he bought himself a Highway 1 Tele as well (there's also the accoustic and electro accoustic that he owns). Dave's been playing for at least 18 years and is responsible for teaching me much of what I've learned, today it was Star Man by Bowie, Born in the Bayou by CCR and the Bert Jansch version of Angie (that last one will take me some time to nail I reckon). At times it's really hard to keep up with what he's showing me but it's certainly always challenging which is a good thing.

I tried to replicate this shot for todays blip but his Strat is darker than my Tele to begin with and I never got the lighting quite right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.