Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Ailsa Craig Dawn

I cannot believe the run of lovely sunrises we have had here in the West of Scotland, with most days in the last week offering something worthwhile for us blippers.

A hard overnight frost, lots of puffy clouds in the sky and a clear horizon at first light all suggested there would be a colourful sunrise, and I wasn't going to miss it. I was down at the mouth of the river as the clouds were increasingly being turned red by the rising sun. The offshore breeze allowed some areas of water to remain perfectly calm creating a wonderful reflecting pool. As I happily blipped away a few Curlews called as they took off from the beach. A pair of ducks flew overhead and gulls kept close to the water as they stretched their wings on this new day. However, none flew into the shot I was after or at least where I would have wanted them in the shot.

On review, I struggled to pick out the best one to post, although I eventually settled on this one as the lines of pink clouds and their reflections take your eye to Ailsa Craig on the horizon. LARGE might be worthwhile to see it better.

Forecast for rain later in the day and tomorrow, so this may well be the last sunrise for a while.

Hope everyone has a blipping good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.