Chameleon

'Remember I wanted to see specimen 06.01. I wanted to look at its nipples.' An early morning quote from Ara the mammalogist, talking to his student Raimundo. I'd gone out with them to check the small mammal traps they'd laid out to assess the species found in these lowland forest patches. A couple of semi-interesting finds, but the most riveting remains a rodent caught earlier in the week that is likely not known from anywhere else south of the Zambezi, and is usually more associated with true forest such as found in places like the Congo Basin. It indicates that historically these regions of southern Africa had much more connectivity with the big forest blocks, and weren't the isolated fragments of today.

Ara and I debated the role of zoos and the value of other wildlife interactions, including the keeping of wild animals by rural communities all over Africa, even the example of the baby chimp in the pharmacy I encountered in Liberia as Ara has also had reason to visit Zorzor for survey work. We both strongly support the role of good zoos because of the positive attitudes towards wildlife and conservation that they promote. I personally would be unlikely to be working in this sector if it hadn't been for childhood visits to Chester Zoo. Bad zoos need to be held to account, but good zoos help to mainstream what would otherwise be extremely detached concepts.

Animal welfare and conservation are often horribly mixed up. Whilst I don't support cruelty to animals, I am more bothered about protection of landscapes and preservation of wildlife in general than the fate of an individual animal or plant. Someone I interviewed earlier this year thought she was currying favour by talking about how upset she got when she last saw roadkill. I dislike seeing dead animals but for pragmatism I put more energy into protecting forests and their inhabitants than mourning the loss of one creature.

This tiny chameleon was found on a leaf and was a willing subject for some photos.

As it's the last proper night of the surveys, we treated ourselves to drinks around a campfire. A bottle of Amarula was broken out, which must be one of the world's most delicious alcoholic drinks. I'm surprised it hasn't become more of a global phenomenon. I informed everyone of the 'giraffe' drinking game whereby you must use your teeth to reach a shot glass of Amarula on the ground by spreading your legs wide and lowering your mouth like a giraffe does at a watering hole. I was well versed on previous travels to Botswana when young and lithe, and after demonstrating tonight was at much more risk of ripping a tendon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.