Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bottoms Up!

Our decorator is starting work in our living room on Monday. Which means furniture will need to be moved. Which means cupboards have to be emptied. And that means you find things lurking at the back that haven't seen the light of day in a long time.

This is a good example. I can date this bottle to January 1997. We visited my sister and brother-in-law for the first time in Namibia where they were living at the time, and one evening my brother-in-law took me out to meet some of his German-speaking friends. What started off as a convivial drink turned into a card game. I don't remember the rules; indeed, I'd be surprised if anyone could, but the gist of it was that if one combination of cards was laid the person laying them had to drink a Jagermeister down in one while shouting 'Jagermeister!'. If another combination of cards was laid, everyone else had to drink the Jagermeister. As you can imagine, in the course of a game of cards there was potential for rather a lot of Jagermeister to be drunk.

I don't remember a lot more about the evening other than that we got into a lot of trouble from my sister for being late back for dinner. I bought a bottle of Jagermeister to bring home as a souvenir and this is it; in the cold light of day at home it tasted of cough medicine, and not good cough medicine at that.

About the best I can say about it is that it beats the bottle of Yugoslavian brandy someone brought back from Sarajevo for me in 1982. There's some of that left too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.