NoodlePix

By Pix

Today I ran the Percy Pud. It's a 10k race along the Loxley valley in Sheffield, and is the first race I ever entered about 7 years ago. Haven't run it for a few years now, and it was a lovely crisp morning for it. Cold and still. I deliberately didn't take my stop watch, as I was just going to jog round and enjoy it. Hadn't run for 2 months to see if my toe would heal. It hasn't and, as it doesn't actually hurt to run, I decided to go anyway and just see how i got on. I had a bit of a hip niggle as I was warming up, but decided it was the kind of thing that would pass if you carried on. It did. Last time I ran the PP the limit was about 1300 runners. Today there were 2000, which made a big difference; lots of people getting in the way; I started too far back. Despite the higher numbers there didn't seem much atmosphere and hardly any support from spectators, and not as much encouragement from fellow runners as I have seen before (the out and back nature of the race provides ample opportunity for that).

I wasn't pushing too hard, and felt quite strong for most of the race, passing people all the way til the last 2k when I slowed considerably for the up-hills, and didn't make up all the ground on the downs. I was glad by the end that it wasn't any further.

I'm pleased that I don't seem to have lost much fitness and the gym work has maybe helped the strength in my legs and upper body.

Thank you to whoever has bought me a year's Blip membership; that is very kind, and I shall try to repay with some half-decent photos :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.