Goldfinch

Lovely blue sky today. Handheld for change. I set up my lardy pole. What a fabulous success. There has been two blackbirds sitting on it all day as well as a huge number of other birds. I took a shot of it and when I looked on the computer there was a starling too, that I hadn't seen. Shame the quality was not good enough to blip- always another day. Thanks to the blipper who suggested a lardy pole and blipped theirs. Sorry I cannot remember who it is. If you want to know how to make one - take one piece of log- with lots of cracks, crevices, shoots that have been cut off etc. Soften some lard in the microwave and add sunflower hearts, peanuts or any other bird food you have and mash in. Plaster on to the log, pushing in the cracks and holes with a knife. Easy- I wedged mine in a bush I had cut back for the winter, about 4 feet from the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.