dreaming

By dreaming

The contest begins

The Christmas doorway decorating competition has begun again, so I will be posting photos of the more attractive doorways over the next few weeks.  This is the doorway of 201, whose decorations I frequently blip.  In case you can't read the sign on the door, it reads "Dear Santa, define good."  The extra is the other side, the home of elves.

I'm trying to finally put my sister's calendar to rest.  I've decided on the quotes, but I'm still trying to chose two images.  Looking in my People folder, I was struck by how rarely those pictured were doing anything other than sitting, perhaps reading (there are a lot of those), but not engaged in any non-sedentary activity.  Searching online for images of women working, walking, cooking, weaving turned up almost nothing.  It struck me that this is how women have been depicted in art since the dawn of civilization - passive, quiet, insignificant.  And even today, when women are so much more active in society, art still paints them as passive and on the periphery.  I'll just have to keep searching, but I'd really like to take the calendar to the printer tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.