Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Birds eyeview of Catho

A few weeks back I bought myself a drone in the black Friday sales.  I brought it home, charged it up and then spent half and hour living in fear that it would take off and crash into the ceiling while I was setting it up.  It sat on the table like a wild animal whirring and purring.   It flashed it lights at me and made beeping noises.  When it was finished  I took it outside to see if I could get lift off.  Perhaps not the best day as it was blowing a hoolie so I took it up as far as the roof and brought it straight back down again.  I have been a bit wary of it and wind and most of all, making sure I stick to the rules of flying.  I got myself an app which tells me if it OK to fly in my location and really the only spot I have found that I wanted to try was Catho which I did this morning. 

I hand it to those blippers who use their drones so well.  I haven't found it easy trying to get the shot right.  I suppose one of the main issues is seeing the image on the phone screen in bright sunlight.  I will gladly welcome any tips from drone users.

Anyhoo, this is Catho as a Sea Eagle would see it.  You can see the pier I have often blipped.  The beach was packed so I am well away from the busy end (one of the rules is not flying over people on beaches).   Lots to learn and I need plenty of practice now I have taken it off the beginners altitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.