Lifts

Three years ago we acquired a flatful of furniture. Some went to daughter, some went to Freecycle and some just added to our hopeless clutter. 

Son moving into an unfurnished house is a brilliant opportunity for us to offload stuff we don't want help him out. I was very nervously thinking of hiring a van but then my lovely generous brother agreed to drive his van to Oxford, help me fill it up, drive us to Bristol and help unload. 

Consternation when the dining table wouldn't fit through the front door. Nor would the door come off its hinges. I was all for getting the table into the garden at the end of the row then passing it over fences till it ended up in son's back yard but that was not how son wanted to be introduced to his new neighbours. However the neighbour in the parallel street with a garden backing onto son's was merrily outside and keen to help out. When the table wouldn't go through his front door either, he called some friends - professional movers - to come round NOW and sort it. And they did.

This weekend was chosen partly because son's band was performing this evening. I opted for a night walk in Bristol rather than listening to the sound check but then went in and pretended to be young and sparkly. I lasted till 1.30am but then had to get myself back to bed while the real young and sparklies danced on.

Extras (and a link - forgive my self-indulgence). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.