Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Service of Light

Started off at my regular church for the second Sunday in Advent, and dropping off some Christmas gifts and toiletries for the local food bank.

Then lunch, clean house, and then it was into my rarely used uniform to go across to a service at one of our two hospital sites. It was a Service of Light, or of Remembering, for those who have lost babies or children. The focus was on silver stars with names written on, and lighting a candle for each. It was all very moving, and cathartic for those who had lost. I felt it was an important event to support. Losing a child or baby is such an emotional crash for the family, constant repetition of people understanding is needed.

On the way home I stopped briefly at my parents, to collect the jumper my Mum has kindly knitted for me (I gave her to stop her being bored), and she is doing much better, now able to look down and around a bit without being dizzy. Then got stuck on the M62 on the way home, after an upturned car all but shut the motorway. I was there for an hour and a half. All you can do is wait. Lucky I didn't need the bathroom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.