Oh Christmas tree! Oh Christmas tree..........

I finally got around to putting the decorations on the tree later this afternoon. The first one I usually take out of the box, is the small plastic Santa and sleigh, seen in the photo. Other photo in extras. My grandmother bought it for me when I was a baby. It is a very small rattle ornament for the Christmas tree. I guess my mum would shake it for me before hanging it on our family small artificial one. She gave it to me when I finally left home after I was married. Precious item. 
    We went to the second of the Advent Sunday services at the Vineyard church in Birmingham this morning. 
The second Advent candle was lighted and some seasonal carols were sung in amongst other songs. 
Such a timeless story, the events leading up to that first Christmas. 
Time to pause in the busyness on the streets and in the shops. And reflect as John Betjeman once wrote in his poem about Christmas entitled:
            "The Bells of Waiting Advent Ring.
            I quote from the last three verses............

And is it true,
This most tremendous tale of all,
Seen in a stained-glass window's hue,
A Baby in an ox's stall ?
The Maker of the stars and sea
Become a Child on earth for me ?

And is it true ? For if it is,
No loving fingers tying strings
Around those tissued fripperies,
The sweet and silly Christmas things,
Bath salts and inexpensive scent
And hideous tie so kindly meant,

No love that in a family dwells,
No carolling in frosty air,
Nor all the steeple-shaking bells
Can with this single Truth compare -
That God was man in Palestine
And lives today in Bread and Wine.
John Betjeman



      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.