afterthoughts

By afterthoughts

Homage to Harry Callahan

Some photos stick in one's mind from the moment we see them. One such shot is that taken by Harry Callahan of trees in snow. As far as I know it was taken in Chicago in 1950. Callahan was one of the original blippers, going out on the streets to take photos and printing them in the afternoons and evenings. He left some 100,000 negatives behind him when he died.

I must have seen his photo for the first time about twenty years ago on the front cover of a book but since then it has remained with me. Today, at a place normally full of people, I saw these trees and was immediately reminded of that shot. This is not meant as a replica, just my own interpretation of the scene I saw.

You can find Callahan's work here and here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.