jjdphoto

By jjdphoto

Cookies

Modern Christmas cookies can trace their history all the way back to the 16th century.
Christmas cookie traditions around the world started with peppery papparkakor from Sweden, lemony krumkake from Norway, almond-flavored letterbanket from Holland, pfeffernuessen and spritz and lebkuchen from Germany. But today, most homemade holiday cookies are simple rounds or squares.
It is said that these little rounds of goodness were presented to visitors and families during the holiday season and have continued to be a Christmas tradition ever since.
My wife and daughters embrace this every year - they never complain or mention the hours of work and the steps involved. They embrace it as a time of bonding and joy and having fun. They follow the tradition of blessing others and sharing these little gems, often with a tin of their carefully selected favorites. Me, I do my best to express my gratitude and compliments as I pair them with my morning cup of coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.