Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Vantage - #MM255

Today I took a tour of Winchester Cathedral's tower.  I have been up in the roofspace above the nave before and out onto the roof, but never to the top of the tower.  That's where I took this shot in wonderful late afternoon light.

Until recently peregrines have been using the tower as a vantage point - and a larder, as pigeons love being up here too.  Recently the peregrines have moved across to the tower you see on the mid-left of the blip.  It's part of Winchester College, I think above the chapel and cloisters. 

So as well as the blipper being on a vantage point, you are looking at the peregrines' current vantage point - and on the top left of the image is a third - the beech trees on the top of the Iron Age fort of St Catherine's Hill.

Oh and one more vantage that I forgot to put in earlier - on the horizon to the right you can apparently sometimes see the Isle of Wight, though not on hazy days  ;))

So this is my entry for today's MonoMonday.  Many thanks to JohnEdward, who is currently hosting.

Thanks for your lovely reception of my heron yesterday - what kind people you are  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.