wrperry

By wrperry

Something New

I have a row of Bradford Pear trees separating the lawn from the wooded area in my back yard.  I am aware that these trees are no longer favored, and are considered undesirable and invasive.  I wouldn't plant one now, but they do serve a good purpose in their current location.  They have white flowers that attract bees in early spring, but I never paid attention to the fruit.  Until today, when I took this photo of a cardinal in the distance.  When I got it up on the screen I saw that he was eating the fruit.  Apparently, this is one of the problems with the trees.  After a frost, the fruit softens and becomes attractive to birds.  The birds then scatter the seeds in their droppings, leading to the uncontrolled spread of the tree.  Interesting ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.