Mono Monday : : Vantage

I wasn’t going to go to class this morning because my knee hurt, but it felt better once I got out of bed so I went. I wasn’t going to got to Acre for coffee either, but I decided to put off the unfinished Christmas mayhem in my living room and get a cup. While I waited for OilMan to join me me, I took some pictures from a different vantage point. I’ve always liked the high ceilings in this very big room. Never noticed that cctv camera above the door....I go there to watch people. It didn’t occur to me that they were watching me,.,

By the time OilMan arrived I had just finished my coffee and he really didn’t want any, so we gave up our prime table and did a little Christmas shopping instead.

First stop, a trip to the toy store. All but the youngest grands have outgrown the toy store but OilMan has been such a good boy I bought him not one but two new puzzles. (But only if he promised to get rid of three puzzles that are piling up everywhere. The 2,000 piece map of the world should keep him busy.

We used to play a game of capitols with the kids on car trips. I think it involved license plates too....our kids were probably the only kids in their class who knew the capitol of Kentucky (Frankfort) or South Dakota (Pierre).  When they got older we graduated to world wide capitols. Do kids learn this stuff in school anymore?

Speaking of school, granddaughter Claire just found out she will be attending Vassar next year. Even though she wouldn’t let me (or anybody) read her essay, I knew she would get in. As OilMan commented, that girl is going places....

The tree is now more or less decorated, and OilMan has taken the empty storage bins out of the living room. I decided to eliminate the birds’ nests this year...too messy. Unlike puzzles, attrition is difficult to accomplish with Christmas tree ornaments. Without the birds’ nests I thought there would be room for the bread dough ornaments the kids made back in 1975 but they seem to have disintegrated....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.