CallieJDH

By CallieJDH

St Peter & St Paul

Today is the first Sunday in Advent. Four weeks until Christmas. I didn't sleep well last night. My head was full of worries about work, money, family, Christmas shopping and whether or not my sore throat would come to anything. Kind hubby said I needn't go to church - go back to sleep for a while.
I declined, I like church it sets me up for the week. I like the singing and I like our friends there. But now I know why I had to go today. There was a message for me. The Leader played a video (probably on YouTube) about "what is Advent". It was pretty crass and very American (sorry US) but the gist of it was "Advent is NOT stressing, shopping, panicking, working too hard, getting cross, stressing and longing for January". No, it's waiting patiently with joy for Christmas, for the birth of Christ. It's about the coming of Gods son ".
Bring it on !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.