The second half of life..

By twigs

33+ years

....a lifetime for some.  Today sees the end of my permanent employment at WC - the school I stumbled into all those years ago then never left.

It was an emotional day culminating in a leaving speech I never imagined I'd be making.  The full reality of my new life won't really kick in until school returns after the summer holidays in January.  Until then I guess it will be summer as usual.......only it will be a bi different.

This is the leaving gift I was given - a beautiful pounamu (jade) koru. The unfurling frond shape is symbolic of new life, new beginnings and the hope that is associated with a step into something new and unknown.  Perfect!  


I'm going to miss being amongst such vibrant and positive people - youthful and older - every day though I know I will most definitely enjoy the immense increase in time and self-expression.  

Here beginneth my new chapter......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.