“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.” — Pablo Picasso

My youngest students have now finished their first major work of the semester, an autobiographical self portrait where the background should tell the observer something about the artist that cannot be seen from the likeness alone.  Many comfort zones were left behind over the last few weeks as they tackled, some with excitement, but also several initially with reluctance borne of fear of failure, a task that seemed, (quite rightly), well, difficult.  Exactly when they 'saw the light' I really couldn't say, but cor blimey, it's been a blinding mega million watt brightness ....

Today's photo is of one of the most articulate artworks, beautifully executed and a delight to behold; clearly she is, potentially, a wonderful artist, and I would love to be able to watch her grow.... but, I really do want to put on record that all the portraits were successful, and I am proud of all of my young artists - not because of their finished art works, but because they all dared to try. Now that's what I call learning. 

(I do have the artist's permission to publish this photo of her and her work)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.