Fauxliz Navidad

It's that time of year when we have an early Christmas to accommodate the fact that my brother and niece will be in Spain on December 25th. I have done zero preparation for this, partly because I've been so busy recently* but also because doing it all on the day gets everyone in the Christmas mood. 

My first wife's family are Austrian and celebrate Christmas on the 24th of December. The day is spent building up to a Christmas meal in the evening followed by present opening, which always seemed to work so much better the system I grew up with: presents in the morning, big lunch and then just a drift through the rest of the day in front of the TV.

And that's how it was, today; the Austrian method. Food shopping in the morning, followed by a trip to Lupton to fetch a Christmas tree from Crabtree Farm. I like how they are gradually moving forward from just selling trees: now there is a Christmas shop and also a barn you can go into to visit Willow the donkey. You can just see Willow's back in the photo behind Milly and my joyous mum. 

We spent the afternoon cooking, decorating the tree, wrapping presents and so on before settling down for dinner and then opening our gifts to one another. It was a brilliant day and I'm very glad I've got another Christmas in a couple of weeks' time :-)

****
No scales
0 words
Reading: Nowt



*by my standards. Probably 'quite busy' by normal standards

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.