flavia13

By flavia13

LOWTHER CASTLE RUINS

A change of plan today.  I had thought that Askham Hall Gardens and their wonderful café was open all year round so we headed there only to discover it is closed now until March!!!!!

So Lowther Castle is only about a mile or so away so we went there.  I have been a few times and I love to potter round the grounds and discover areas that I haven't yet seen and the café is pretty good.
So our friend and I spent a cold but lovely 3 hours there.  Him having to stop often due to his medical conditions, but there's plenty of places to do that at Lowther.

Lowther Castle is a ruins but stunningly gorgeous and the grounds are quite vast and lovely.  This time of the year it is very quiet and obviously nature is sleeping but it still has a beauty about it.  I prefer it when it's very quiet anyway.

The extras are an additional view of the front of Lowther Castle plus a summer house, well to me it is Hagrid's summer retreat!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.