Bullfinch and goldfinch supping at dusk

I've been writing at the dining table all day keeping my ears and eyes on the playtime of politicians. It is hardly credible what they do on behalf of the public. They seem so self-centred and self serving. Many of the public baying in the wilderness seem much better. 

Outside the backdoor, survival carries on regardless and every few minutes I would look up from my screen and watch the birds and the less than welcome squirrels. By the time the sun was setting behind the clouds I'd refilled the seed feeders and watched them in the gloom. The golden colour at the top of the picture is the reflection from the lightbulb above my chair.

Earlier this morning I'd seen seven male bullfinches gathered round these same feeders with long tailed tits, two blackcaps and two nuthatches sharing the feeding stations, though not without some raucous squabbling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.