NellieD

By NellieD

A Glass Party

I took myself to Fleetwood today to see if I could get some cold weather clothes for Iceland. A pair of gloves, socks, thermal trousers, long johns, a top and two fleeces later, I'm getting some decent layers ready.

My neck and back have been getting worse over the last couple of days so I went to the walk in centre tonight. Classic whiplash injuries, no obvious major damage and she told me off for not using ice and taking ibuprofen straightaway!

On the way back from Fleetwood is a glass blowing studio, Glasform by John Ditchfield. In the car boot season we drive past it every week but I've never been in, despite admiring the enormous glass sculpture in the field each time I see it! I will have to blip that another time when I can find somewhere close to park.

The blip is a beautiful glass faced family he created and it certainly looked like they were having a great time. 

I love the fact that when you walk in, you are straight into his studio and I could see something interesting was glowing red on the end of his blowpipe.

My husband and I went to the Edinburgh Crystal Factory many years ago and watched them blowing lots of glass - we even got to etch our own tumblers. My husband got very competitive and definitely over etched! I always remember he told us that an apprenticeship is 7 years because they have to be able to remember every single etched pattern!

Quote for today:
When you look at a piece of delicately spun glass you think of two things: how beautiful it is and how easily it can be broken.
- Tennessee Williams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.