The Italian Legends

"i Mostri" - The Monsters

An evening inspired by Mr. Ryuichi Watanabe of New Old Camera and sponsored by Nikon Italy at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.

Only Watanabe could have put together such a feat. Probably never to happen again, though I hope so...

6 of the greats!  6 characters who shaped the world of Italian photojournalism covering all the way from the 50's to recent times.

From left to right:
Fausto Giaccone
Ivo Saglietti
Francesco Cito
Tano d'Amico
Gianni Berengo Gardin
Uliano Lucas
and Maurizio Garofalo as the presenter!

Lots of other photographers, journalist, publishers and such were in the room.  I may not agree with all of their sentiment, but just amazing to hear their stories and how they carved out their careers in a time when there was not much of a road to follow.

Anyone who has followed my journal will know that I have met Gianni Berengo Gardin on more occasions.  Amazing that he lives here in Milan and still makes the rounds to various events.  Too bad he refuses to do any kind of workshop or class.  Though I think I understand him.  Also present in the room was Ferdinando Scianna, another of the greats, and was a friend of Henri Cartier-Bresson to boot!  Though he didn't want to participate per say, he chipped in from time to time.    When the other guys would lock down that the time of great photography is over, he would intervene to chide them about how much new and exciting the world is... I appreciate the two points of view and hope to follow more the second when I am old.  Always room for the new.

Many thanks to Watanabe to have allowed a seat for me near the front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.