ChamomileElixir

By ChamomileElixir

Christmas Traditions

I find myself thinking every holiday season I won't spread myself thin this year or I won't stay constantly busy this year or I won't allow myself to become overwhelmed and this year, I will just enjoy the season, my family and my friends. No matter my good intentions I find that toward mid December, I can't wait  for Christmas to just be done and over.

This year has been no different...plans every night, weekend activities abound, stacks of presents to wrap and me as a single person is having a hard time finding time for all these holiday activities. 

Next year I think I might plan on going someplace warm and sunny...get away from all the craziness that surrounds the holidays. I say that now but chances are I will be in the thick of it as always...especially since it will my my newest grand babies first christmas...can't miss that gosh darn it!

So the purpose of this diatribe is to explain my lack of posting the last couple of days. I have the pictures, I just have not had the time to post them. So here's the first ;)

Every year it is mine and my kids tradition to take a tour of neighborhood holiday decorations. Meaning, we plan a route based off internet suggestions and drive around to look at houses of interest. We always try to end up at this house the "snowflake" house. It is kind of our grand finale of christmas houses.  The owner of the house has a sort of partnership with local businesses. They will advertise the business by handing out business cards to the spectators and the business will pay for the electric costs, the costs for putting up the display and for maintaining it throughout the holiday season.

I often wonder how much business it drums up for the participating business.

Anyway, happy late Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.