Ursonate

By Ursonate17

Good evening Commander....

To my alma mater, the Royal College of Art this evening for a party celebrating a friend's CBE investiture.

Lots of people, Design Royalty, most of a certain age, many with worn-out ears, each shouting at the other in a failed attempt to be heard over the consequential roar...Chinese bellowing, not whispering.
I lasted about half an hour, admired the CBE ( impressively heavy brooch, pretty ribbons) and left to wander and wonder a bit.

Student, teacher and then a career in the Museums...add it all together and I've been cruising SouthKen for about thirty years.
After all that time, I still feel both familiar and excluded - somewhere I go to but don't come from if you know what I mean?

PS Thank you, no, Bless you all for being so generous in your support of my centenary blip day yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.