Life is like a river

By Gunnlaug

The Icelandic Yule Lads

Today we had the annual Christmas ball in our school :)

Two of the Icelandic Yule Lads / Santas came to visit the children and brought with them some Christmas cheer, singing, dancing and, of course, some gifts for the children in their big bag.

In extra photos there's the minutes before the ball started and one of our girls receiving her gifts from Kjötkrókur and Hurðaskellir.

In the afternoon one of my special pupils came to see me with his mother and gave me this "Santa-bait", which is a homemade gingerbread cookie with sugar-decoration (see extra photos).  It's a rather long story, but we were talking about the tradition of shoe in the window and how I might be able to trick the Yule Lads to give me - an adult! - something nice in my shoe at home.
Now I have to make up an excellent story to tell him on Monday ;)  Awww, those children are adorable <3 

More about the Icelandic Yule Lads and their family

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.