Arachne

By Arachne

Facing the music

This evening I volunteered to be a steward at a concert in Oxford by James and Jeanne Galway with the Orchestra of St John's Smith Square. The disembodied conductor's hand belongs to John Lubbock (two years ago I was in a performance of Carmen that he conducted). In return for showing people to their seats and pouring coffee in the interval I got to hear some Vivaldi flute concerti, to admire this dress and jacket and to take too many not-very-good photos from the balcony.

I wasn't sure whether my role as a steward involved stopping people from taking photos, but I didn't, obviously.

I have forgotten Sub Sunday the last two weeks, but this week suggest you take a look at youngies journey. Youngie is a train driver based in Edinburgh and gets a view of the world that most of us never see. Don't miss his Forth rail bridge. It's the next best thing to actually being a train driver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.